DIY Macrame Plant Hangers

Recently I made and photographed macrame plant hangers for Beginning Boutique http://blog.bb.com.au/2015/02/diy-macrame-plant-hanger.html
This week, I thought I would make a few more to decorate my extremely white apartment and share my own blog post with you.

macrame-hanger-4Things you need
-Rope/string
-Scissors
-Plants

This blog shows you how to do basic macrame and a cobra stitch, although once you get the hang of it, it becomes quite easy to do other patterns (especially if you were obsessed with scoobies in primary school like me).

There are a few different ways to start your hanger, but basically I started with 4 long pieces of string, mine were about a metre long (it’s better to have too much than too little).
I folder the pieces of string in half and knotted them together at the folding point (this is the bottom of the hanger) (see image 2).
I then separated the string in pieces of 2 like a cross (see image 3) and knotted each pair about an inch and a half from the main knot (see image 4).
Next I separated the pairs of string to make new pairs creating a web-like pattern (see image 5/6).
Depending how big your plant is, continue step 5 until you have enough rows of knots (for my little pots I stopped here).
Sit your pot in the middle of the web and knot all 8 pieces of rope together above the plant and hang!

Steps

For one of my hangers I dip dyed the bottom of the hanger and cut my 4 pieces of rope in half to create a tie at the bottom.
macrame-hanger-2            macrame-hanger-3

Cobra Stitch

Cobra stitch is done with 4 pieces of rope and is basically creating knots around the middle 2 pieces of rope, alternating sides.cobra-stitch-steps

I will be eventually posting more complex macrame plants hangers, macrame wall hangings and even macrame jewellery so watch this space.

Rach x

Leave a comment